Some issues with Dafny

May 14, 2016 at 6:12 PM
I am new to Dafny. I have two questions to begin with.
  1. Where is the output of a compiled program in Dafny in Visual Studio? I have "print" statement and a return statement but can see no output.
  2. Why do I get assertion violation for the following simple program?
    method main() returns(i:int)
    {
    var a: array<int> := new int[4];
    a[0], a[1], a[2], a[3] := 1, 2, 3, 4;
    assert exists i :: 0 <= i < a.Length && a[i] == 3;
    print "hello, Dafny\n";
    return a[3];
    }
May 15, 2016 at 5:19 AM
Edited May 15, 2016 at 5:21 AM
For the second question, Dafny usually doesn't prove existential assertion automatically.
You have to assist it by providing a concrete witness or an inductive proof.
In your example, inserting assert a[2] == 3; before the existential assertion will do the job.
May 15, 2016 at 6:38 AM
Thanks. Yes I knew that works. But the funny thing is with the existing code if I change the "assert" so as to assert about the last element of the array it works! Moreover it is not even able to verify
assert exists i : nat :: 0<= i < a.Length
for the array a.

May 15, 2016 at 2:13 PM
As I said, Dafny needs hints to prove even the simplest assertion when it comes to existential quantifiers.
It can not even show assert exists i: int :: i == 0 without a hint.

Besides, assertions like assert exists i: int :: i == 0 (as well as assert exists i: nat :: 0 <= i < a.Length) would produce a "No terms found to trigger on" error. You may get around this error by wrapping your condition in a predicate (e.g., define eq for integers and write eq(i, 0) instead of i == 0). For more details, please see this post and the reference therein.
May 15, 2016 at 4:08 PM